Instant Oatmeal in Bulk for College

My reason for doing this is so I can have cheaper instant oatmeal (you know, just add hot water, no microwave or stove necessary!) so I can have a quick breakfast in my dorm room that only takes as long as it does to boil water, which I’ll probably be doing anyway to make tea. So I suggest other college students should read this, since it’s a quick breakfast and the only “cooking” involved is an electric kettle that’s sure to be allowed in the dorm rooms (unlike microwaves in my school).

How it turned out
What I made is chewier than I would have hoped, but I knew it was going to be chewy and I can deal with and adjust to that. The flavor is also more, I guess, “mealy” than I expected, but at the same time I haven’t actually had cooked oatmeal in a while so it probably always tasted like this and I just didn’t notice. So I plan to test out this batch more in the next few weeks, along with some fruit (because today I just tried it with speculoos spread) and once I have it better I will make a bigger batch to bring back to school.

How-to
The best thing to do is to just buy “instant oats” at the store. I couldn’t find them, though, so I Googled a lot and found ways to make it from old-fashioned oats. Ideally the recipe should be made with the quick oats instead of old-fashioned, otherwise they will be very chewy. I used this recipe to figure out the amounts, but I altered it a bit so it became:

  • 1 cup powdered oats (originally old-fashioned oats)
  • 3 cups “quick-cooking oats” (except I only have old-fashioned oats, so I put them in the food processor to make them smaller; next time I will try actual quick-cooking oats and it will probably work better)
  • 8-ish shakes of salt (I probably should have added more and I will soon; basically, a pinch of salt for every serving)
  • A few sprinkles of flax seeds

Flavors
So now the goal is to try some more flavor combinations. I will probably try some fruit and cream with the frozen fruit we have and powdered creamer, and I might try to find some nut-free dried fruits. At the bottom of the recipe I used there are seven combinations to start you with.

Do you have any tips? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

