To all those who have Macs and writing tablets: some tips

I have a Wacom Bamboo tablet, which I find very useful for Adobe Illustrator. For so long, I have been trying to find a way to write on pdfs so I can write notes for classes and not have to print pages, because that’s annoying and a waste of paper. So, of course I want to use my wonderful tablet.

I finally found formulatepro, which is for Mac (sorry Windows users!). It allows you to write, draw, and type on pdfs. The only downside is you have to open it in this application until you decide you are finished editing, and then you can save it as a pdf with everything all finished.

I find this very useful, and it all makes sense to use, so I’m happy with it. And if you have a locked document that your computer won’t let you print or edit, you can also open it in formulatepro and resave it. Therefore if you have a Mac and a pen tablet, you will probably find this useful.

Additionally, I also learned that Inkwell (usually referred to as Ink) is a thing that exists, which allows you to handwrite anything in any place that can be typed.

When you plug in your tablet, just go to System Preferences and enable the application (it will only show up when the tablet is plugged in). So far I haven’t used it a whole lot, and it doesn’t always get the letters right.

As you can see from the series of characters on the top right, it doesn't always translate well.

I’m not sure how to get the computer to “learn” my handwriting yet, because the only way I can fix what’s been written is to delete it and try again, but it’s a start and most of the time only some letters are jumbled and therefore I can still tell what I meant to write, which means later I need to go back and fix it by typing.

Have you found any other helpful applications for tablets for the Mac? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

