NaBloPoMo 2: Lack of routine

This week has been a very interesting week. I haven’t had classes since last Wednesday (today is Friday, so it’s been a week and two days) because they were all basically canceled for various reasons last Thursday and Friday. Then on Monday of course was the hurricane, which did not actually bother me in terms of losing power (because we didn’t) but it changed my routine. Now I haven’t had class all week, which was a nice break, but I’m starting to have a problem with it. I think part of the problem is the fact that it was an unexpected break, and I’m starting to get too anxious and unsettled about it.

Now that’s not to say that I haven’t enjoyed this past week of nothingness. And I still had work to do—not the least of which was my job at the school newspaper, which took up more time than usual because a good part of the staff was stuck at home. Even though we only printed 8 pages instead of the usual 12, I had more design work than usual, including a “cyclone leaf” logo, as one of our advisers called it, and another logo for an editorial. (You can see the whole issue here.)

Additionally, starting on Halloween, I began rereading Maureen Johnson’s The Name of the Star because it seemed like a good thing to do if I wasn’t going to do anything else to celebrate Halloween. And I think it’s important to note that I had a really great breakfast this morning too: Tea, breakfast sandwich, scone, a copy of our hard work from yesterday, and this wonderful book.

Good breakfast with tea, yesterday's hard work, and a book.

A post shared by Katie Hambor (@katiehambor) on

And also, at lunch with my friend Hilary, I had some pumpkin ice cream with vanilla chai tea, which of course was delicious.

Pumpkin ice cream and vanilla chai tea with Hilary. Yum.

A post shared by Katie Hambor (@katiehambor) on

I don’t really know where this blog post is going, but this monthlong blogging project will definitely get better, especially when classes start again and this feeling of being unsettled will go away and I can be more productive again. Of course, reading books help too.

Leave a Reply

