NaBloPoMo 4: I really do love Graphic Design

I actually started writing this in July (oops) but I never got around to finishing it. Finally I am adding more than just a short paragraph and the quote below. I hope that’s okay.

Not too long ago my friend Hilary asked me if I liked Graphic Design. At first I thought she was joking because yeah, I’m a Graphic Design major. But then I realized she was genuinely serious. I’m sorry for the people who don’t like their major, but although I dislike the communications classes that have nothing to do with designing, I really do love my major. People tell me it’s not a hard major to have, that I’m not putting myself to my potential. If that’s so, I don’t care. I love it and that’s all that matters. I don’t think I will stop loving it anytime soon, either.

To this she replied: (Excessive use of excitement and capital letters ahead; you have been warned)

I did mean it though!

Because even though I love geology, I know that there are days when I would love nothing more than to roll over and go for that Accounting degree (dammit why do business majors have such easy schedules). And then there’s Katie, who is UNRELENTINGLY ENTHUSIASTIC ABOUT TYPOGRAPHY. If Katie can be unrelenting about ANYTHING, it’s typography. I really, really envy that sometimes.

Also I’m getting an education degree because I like educating people about things. But I hate all of my education courses. So I think what I’m saying about this whole deal is that college is a complicated place that makes me wonder if I like my intended course of study enough to continue in it for the rest of my life, and sometimes I wonder if other people have the same uncertainties.

I guess I don’t tend to think so much about how people dislike their majors sometimes. But I do certainly think about the possibility of this major not being a good idea in the end. What if I finish college, have this Graphic Design degree, and I can’t find a design job? I know this happens all the time, not just for my major. But this major is my “practical” major. My “impractical”/fun major is Music Studies, just because I wanted to learn more about music. My minor—web design—is also practical. I just really hope that it’s actually practical enough to get me where I may want to go in life.

Still, I have to keep working at it and just hope that everything works out. I do know I am better than a majority of my peers at this school in terms of design, and I hope that translates well enough into the world outside of college so that I can learn more and continue to improve. On that note, I’m going to go read some more of my design books and teach myself some new tricks. The way I look at it, there’s no way I can’t not improve.

One thought on “NaBloPoMo 4: I really do love Graphic Design

Leave a Reply

