NaBloPoMo 9: Family memories

Today is a significant day in my personal history, specifically November 9, 2007. That was the day that my Grandpa passed away suddenly—my Grandpa who was around all the time, living 45 minutes away. Since then it’s been a strange five years, I guess. There are two parts of my feelings for this, as I’ve now lived five years without him being in my life and my memory of him is fading because I was fifteen when this happened.

I planned to write more about all of this, but I don’t know what to say, even though five years seems like an important number of years or something. So until I think of something of note to say, I have a photo of my bear, Higgy (named after Grandpa, because his name is Harry George: HG), that I bought myself but in memory of Grandpa, because he loved the Giants. (Also, they won the Super Bowl after he passed away, which was nice.)

I love you, Grandpa, and I miss you so much. Thank you for shaping me into who I am today.

Leave a Reply

