NaBloPoMo 17.2: Map making is fun

Again I’m left with 15 minutes in the day to write a blog post: GO!

I had a really great time this past weekend being able to relax with my parents and two of my friends from school while at home. Luckily I didn’t have a lot of work to do this weekend so the only thing I had was design work which could easily be done while watching television, so my friends and I lounged around and had a lazy day yesterday while I was finally introduced to Parks and Recreation. (Even though I started watching in season 3, today I began watching it all from the beginning.)

The only thing I have been working on is another map, even more extensive than the last map that I worked on. Unlike before, I am working on the map almost completely by myself, and I am still finding that I enjoy designing maps as long as a preliminary map has already been drawn. (There’s no way I could go out and do all the measuring myself!)

So far the map looks like this, but it’s nowhere near finished, as I’ve only been tracing the major roads and rivers.

Screen Shot 2013-11-17 at 11.49.37 PM

I’m definitely excited for Tuesday when I am able to continue working with the rest of the team. Maybe one day I’ll find myself designing more maps, or maybe one day I’ll find I dislike the whole operation. But for now, the tedious process is soothing and gratifying with every design step I take.

mtsignature

Leave a Reply

