NaBloPoMo 24.2: Writing back burner

I almost completely forgot that I was supposed to write a blog post today. Unfortunately I believe I have developed a sinus or ear infection (or both) so today has been a lazy day of working on projects while sitting on the couch and watching television. All of a sudden at exactly 11 p.m. I realized that I put this blog on the back burner yet again I needed to write something soon.

(However that “back burner” metaphor really isn’t a very good one because in my apartment I have only been using two burners on the stove, the big one in front and a smaller in the back to the left, as I am afraid to use the other two because there’s still things seared below the burners from previous owners that I can’t clean and frankly don’t care to. Also the stove is so small that you can only fit two things on the stove in this way at a time anyway.)

I am fully aware, however, that for most of this month of November, with this second blog post month I am participating in, I have continually been leaving posts to the last-minute without planning ahead with what I want to write about. I still haven’t talked about my trip to Europe last January, and it’s been almost a year since I was there. Regardless, I certainly learned how to think of an idea, write about it, and check it over in under an hour.

One thing is clear though, with my blog post work ethic this month, there really is no way I would have been able to do NaNoWriMo, or write an entire novel in a month. But writing blog posts every day, or even once in a while as I hope to continue after November, is much more satisfying when I see that others are reading my work and enjoying it. I don’t think I’m ready for a long-term writing commitment such as writing a novel. Instead, smaller projects like writing blog posts and, of course, doing graphic design work are what I’ll continue to do as they are what I do best.

mtsignature

Leave a Reply

